All users within ShipHero should be assigned a role. Roles give users the specific permissions you set for them.
Table of Contents
- Definition of Roles and Permissions in ShipHero
- How to Create a Role in ShipHero
- Definitions of ShipHero Role Settings
Definition of Roles and Permissions in ShipHero
Roles are predefined permission settings assigned to users in your account. Role templates can be created, customized, and managed using the Users & Roles interface.
Users can have multiple roles assigned, but if role permissions conflict, the role granting permission supersedes the role denying it.
For example, a user is assigned two roles, Picker and Packer. The Picker role was created without access to the order page, and the Packer role was created with access to the order page. In this case, the user will have access to the order page.
Roles do not control API access. Access to the ShipHero Public API is a per-user setting, granted on the Users page with Enable API Access. See How to Create and Manage Users in ShipHero.
How to Create a Role in ShipHero
Create a new role from scratch, or use an existing role as a template and adjust its permissions.
Roles cannot be deleted, but they can be deactivated using the toggle on the Roles page.
- Go to the Users & Roles page.
- Select the Roles tab and click the Create Role button.
- In the Role Type dropdown, select New to create a role from scratch, or select an existing role to use as a template. When using an existing role as a template, the pre-existing permissions populate so you can adjust them.
- Adjust the permissions as needed and click the Continue button.
- Select users from the Add User/s dropdown to assign the role to them, or continue without adding users. Roles can be added to or removed from users at any time.
- Click the Create button.
For more information on creating users, see How to Create and Manage Users in ShipHero.
Definitions of ShipHero Role Settings
Below are the definitions of the available settings for roles. Contact Customer Support if you have further questions.
Settings Across All ShipHero Roles
- View: User can view, but cannot create, edit or delete.
- Create: User can view and create, but cannot edit or delete.
- Edit: User can view, create and edit, but cannot delete.
- Delete: User can view, create, edit and delete.
All roles under User Settings can be allowed to view, create, edit or delete. For example, if a user has the ability to delete billing profiles, they can view, create, edit or delete any billing profiles in the system. These permissions apply to any of the available roles like Bins, Devices, Emails, Cycle Counts, and Purchase Orders.
Pro-Tip
To give a user the fewest permissions, set their permissions to view. To give them the most permissions possible, set their permissions to delete.